Tuesday, September 14, 2010


As you may have caught in the Express-Times on Saturday, the Women's Business Council of The Chamber has awarded its prestigious Athena Award to two very worthy recipients:  Carmen Twillie Ambar, President of Cedar Crest College, and Jennifer Mann, owners of Shuze in Bethlehem.

The prestigious ATHENA Award, presented annually by The Chamber for the past 25 years, actively supports ATHENA International’s mission to support, develop and honor women leaders, inspire women to achieve their full potential, and create balance in leadership worldwide. The ATHENA Award honors individuals who demonstrate excellence, creativity and initiative in their business or profession, who provide valuable service by contributing time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in the community and who actively assist other women in realizing their full leadership potential.

The award lunch itself will be held on October 19, 11:30 - 1:00, at Northampton Country Club.  The price is $30 for members, $60 for non-members, and you can register by E-mailing Colleen at collend@lehighvalleychamber.org

Below is a list of previous award winners.  What's interesting to me is how many notable Lehigh Valley Women have won this award in the past.


Former Athena Winners

1986    Vivian Ross
1987    Kirsten Anderson
1988    Sally Handlon
1989    Pamela Varkony and Susan Schuehler
1990    Lynn Klein and Janet Popyach
1991    Jane Wells Schooley and Susan McAdoo Barr
1992    Madeline DeGrace and Jamie Musselman
1993    Mary Klunk and Carol Dean Henn
1994    Bertie Musselman and Helene Whitaker
1995    Dr. Dorothy Blaney and Nancy Dischinat
1996    Kathryn Stephanoff and Laurie Gostley-Hackett
1997    Helena Lindquist and Sally Gillispie
1998    Suzanne Kresge and Barbara Caldwell
1999    Yvette Palmer and Edith Ritter
2000    Dr. Diane Scott and Diane Donaher
2001    Lauren Giguere and Donna Taggart
2002    Patricia Levin and Candace Currie
2003    Dr. Elaine C. Thompson and Mary Jo Johnson
2004    State Representative Jennifer Mann
2005    Jeanette Eichenwald
2006    Nancy Conrad, Esq.
2007    Terri Haddad
2008    Merry Landis, and Young ATHENA Kate Hart
2009    Laura Azzalina and Young ATHENA Christine Downing


2008                                    Deborah Moyer
2007                                    Monica Gavin
2006                                    Diane Murphy
2005                                    Judy Mathewson
2004                                    Debra Ghia
2003                                    Elaine Pivinski
2002                                    Shelley Brown
2001                                    Linda Zulli-Trumbauer
2002                                  Barbara Harding
1999                                    Dr. Nayln Marcus
1998                                    Renae Mendall
1996                                    Judith Chase
1995                                    Virginia Gonzalez, Ph.D.
1994                                  Sen. Jeanette Reibman
1993                                  MaryEllen Shuman
1992                                  Martha Marino
1990                              Honorable Kimberly McFadden
1989                                    Joanne Cappellano
1988                                    Janet Falk
1987                                  Donna Mulholland
1985                                    Gretchen Wrenshall

No comments: